Posted by: gotrain | January 6, 2009

Que Sera Sera, What will be, will be!

As I begin to write this blog entry, for some reason that old old song by Doris Day, Que Sera Sera came to mind and the words, what will be will be. If you don’t know the song it goes like this.

When I was just a little girl I asked my mother what will I be.

Will I be pretty, will I be rich,

Here’s what she said to me

Que Sera Sera,

Whatever will be will be

The future’s not our to see

Que Sera, Sera,

What will be, will be.

And the song goes on like that.

Today is Sunday January 4th and as I sat and read the local daily newspaper, the Montreal Gazette, I read nothing but bad news. It was difficult to read because I realized that the start of a New Year has brought no change for the better. In fact it seems worse than ever. The global economy is nose diving, corruption is more popular than ever and people are killing each other for nothing.

I want to change things out there but I realize that what I can do right now is change myself; be kinder, more compassionate and helpful. But it seems that the world we live in does not value these things before more popular activities and behaviors like consuming, competing, belittling others, being hurtful etc. After all, that’s what we read about, laugh at on TV and pay to watch on the big screen.

The work I do is to train and coach leaders in organizations to create work environments that fosters teamwork and inspires people to work together in order to grow and prosper. So in my way I am attempting to make changes for the betterment of others in my professional and personal life.

The leadership and teamwork training and coaching model I work from is for leaders to create a unique team spirit in their organizations. This comes from developing self and mutual understanding and fostering a desire to help each other towards a common vision and goals. This should be natural to human beings. But instead we have created a world where we teach the opposite attitudes and behaviors.

I look at babies and young children and see such innocence and gentleness. All they want is to feel joy and be loved and protected. Somewhere along the way we teach them how to hate, be cruel, judge and kill.

This afternoon I went skiing with friends and as I was skiing alongside someone, I asked what her New Years resolution was. She said she has so many. I asked her to pick the most important and she said inner peace; to feel more content. I asked her how she could have that and she said she needed to reflect on the answer.

This is where it can begin to change; when each one of us decides to make peace, contentment, compassion for others, etc. the things we commit ourselves to personally. A real change in our lives, our families, our organization and this world will only come about when each one of us decides to make an effort to change inside and undo all the garbage that was poured into us as we grew up.

How about making that your New Years resolution? How can you do that? There are many ways. Here are a few I know.

Learn about yourself through the Three Brain Synergy system of typology.

Learn about finding inner peace at Mitch Ditkoffs blog, The Heart of the Matter.

I learned about inner peace and contentment for Prem Rawat. Visit Wordsofpeace Canada

If we do nothing different today, now to make our tomorrow and this year better, the words of the song will ring true, whatever will be, will be. Is that what you want?

 

Stephen Goldberg

Leave a Reply

Categories